Further FMP Ideas

After speaking with Myfanwy, Karl and Alison I have more of an idea of what I want to do for my FMP.

In my Part 2 evaluative statement I mentioned that I like the idea of looking into the line between what is socially acceptable and what isn’t (after seeing a minimum and maximum age for Lego on a box and thinking about how old is too old to do certain things).

Karl liked this idea and commented that he is now 50 and still wearing trainers. We contemplated at what age are you too old to do certain things, such as going clubbing, dyeing your hair blue, etc. It is interesting that although there are legal ages set for things across the world, for example in the UK you need to be certain ages to take part in voting, serving part in a Jury and get married (18), drive (17), etc. However, there isn’t usually an age cap put on things, which means that the population that can have a say in things is ageing. In recent political matters, people have said that this is a problem, as sometimes younger people have different views and morals to older people, growing up in different situations (think Brexit).

trainers
Image courtesy of www.stylishwife.com

Many things aren’t socially acceptable (e.g. playing with LEGO at an older age) but why is this so? Surely LEGO can be used in more complex and interesting ways that would indeed make it more of an adult pursuit. More freedom is given to children when they aren’t within the confinements of society, but as we age we seem to become more aware of what others think, thus stifling our creativity and meaning that we are less likely to take part in certain actions which are deemed ‘un-cool’.

Our conversations made me think about a part of Instagram which I discovered as I photograph my toy cow on our travels and post pictures of him online. I used to have a blog, Lifeofcowie, on which he kept people updated on what he was doing. At school, people found this weird, but it was something I enjoyed doing ad just a bit of fun. After making an Instagram for him, I found loads of people who do the same thing – a whole community of toy Instagrammers – and it interested me to know that there are lots of people out there, grown adults, who share unconventional hobbies. This has made me think about how people sometimes put on fronts – just because someone doesn’t openly admit that they play with LEGO doesn’t mean that they don’t or wouldn’t want to. I have heard many people saying that they wish that they could do more of the things that they did in the past and relive their childhoods.

Myfanwy commented that I seem to have a lot of small ideas, and maybe I could present my work like a piece in the GL Strand Gallery which I saw in Copenhagen, which consisted of lots of screens on a floor and two people recording different interactions with each other. Perhaps I could consider more of a performance aspect of my work, carrying out some of these socially unacceptable things and presenting them in the form of videos?

Leave a Reply

