Mattress: Update

After carrying the mattress springs to a place in the woods and leaving it there, it has now been in the open for a few moths. I checked on it recently and was pleased to find that it has completely changed colour – now the springs are all rusted and the noise of the springs when being compressed is different to before.

I wish I had thought to document this process more, but I have taken some photos of the rust now which can be compared to those before.

I really love the way that the springs are now almost camouflaged into the leaves on the ground, having changed in reaction to their location and the weather. The contrasting oranges and greens in these photographs work really well together. The rust prints on the ‘serious safety problem’ paper is also interesting.

I am considering making some rust prints from this mattress as I love the shapes which the springs create.

Leave a Reply

