Abstracting

After starting with a more realistic representation of my jar containing objects, I am now being more experimental in my ways of working, abstracting elements of my jars containing objects and putting them together in a different order and with different scales. I feel as though this realistic method is effective in being visually interesting as the viewer can unpick which objects my painting has been based off of.

20161108_11464820161108_114532

In the second study (shown above), I also added abstract lines to split up the piece more and add a new texture and layer, enhancing the sense of chaos within the piece. I feel as though this is effective as it contrasts to the realistic shading and smooth textures and blending of other elements of my piece.

Next, I plan on creating work which is even more abstract, breaking my objects down only to their basic shapes. Perhaps I should also try working on a larger scale with larger brush strokes.

 

Leave a Reply

