Abstraction

I have just started my third project, this time a module in fine art, which looks at abstraction. I have set up a jar in my studio space, filled with a couple of unrelated objects – a pencil sharpener, piece of fabric, key and apple core – which I plan on recreating in more abstract ways.

I feel as though this project will be useful for me as I am accustomed to painting in a realistic way, so it will challenge me to represent the objects differently, abstracting shapes and patterns which I observe within the jar and experimenting with different arrangements.

I plan on starting by making some realistic studies of the jars and close-ups of sections, so that I can later work from these rather than photographs.

Leave a Reply

