Melting Stick

In order to fully capture the idea behind my melting stick and the human impact on our environment (and the rising sea levels  due to deforestation and surface runoff), I have recorded a simplistic video of my cast twig melting in my hand.

I set up a backdrop of dark paper, put lights facing it and set my camera up on a tripod. I then recorded my hand in focus holding the stick and tried to keep my hand as still as possible.

The droplets look interesting, and I am pleased with the outcome of the video. Perhaps if I were to make it again I would find a way of showing the puddle of water forming beneath, and I would also try and prevent the stick from falling out of my hand (something which I was quite grateful for as it was so cold!)

I sped up the video as this made the droplets fall faster, making it look more dramatic.

Leave a Reply

