Vinamold

Vinamold involves heating vinyl rubber to around 160°. Due to this high temperature, the object which you are making a mould of must be able to withstand high temperatures – e.g. plastic may melt but metal wouldn’t.

20160914_150402

To create my casting, I used a board and rolled out some clay 1cm thick.

20160914_151907

I then secured my chosen objects to the board using a thin layer of clay which I pushed them firmly into to prevent them from floating in the molten rubber when it was poured over them. I also wiped away any excess clay to ensure that there wasn’t any clay misshaping the mould.

20160914_155752

I secured the wall around the objects, leaving a 1cm gap between them and the clay wall. I then added another sausage of clay to secure the bottom and pushed this securely around it with my fingers.

As wood contains air, I had to soak my branch in a bucket of water over night in order to fill it up. This reduced bubble formation in the vinamold. I pressed it into my pre-prepared clay after drying it slightly.

20160915_154213

The vinamold was poured over the top of the objects and I left them to set.

20160921_083510

Once the mould was set, I could use it to cast my shapes into different media, such as ice.

Leave a Reply

